Categories :

What are the classifications for trademarks?

What are the classifications for trademarks?

Trademark Classes – The Complete List

  • Product (“Goods”) Classes.
  • Class 1: Chemical Products.
  • Class 2: Paint Products.
  • Class 3: Cosmetics and Cleaning Products.
  • Class 4: Lubricant and Fuel Products.
  • Class 5: Pharmaceutical Products.
  • Class 6: Metal Products.
  • Class 7: Machinery Products.

What is nice classification in trademarks?

The Nice Classification (NCL), established by the Nice Agreement (1957), is an international classification of goods and services applied for the registration of marks. A new edition is published every five years and, since 2013, a new version of each edition is published annually.

What is a Class 30 trademark?

Trademark Class 30 pertains to coffee, tea, cocoa and artificial coffee; rice; tapioca and sago; flour and preparations made from cereals; bread, pastry and confectionery; edible ices; sugar, honey, treacle; yeast, baking-powder; salt; mustard; vinegar, sauces (condiments); spices; ice.

What is a Class 5 trademark?

Class 5: Pharmaceutical and veterinary preparations; sanitary preparations for medical purposes; dietetic substances adapted for medical use, food for babies; plasters, materials for dressings; material for stopping teeth, dental wax; disinfectants; preparations for destroying vermin; fungicides, herbicides; foods and …

What is a Class 1 trademark?

What is a Class 1 Trademark? Class 1 is a very broad category encompassing several different kinds of chemical goods. It includes chemicals used in industry, science, photography, agriculture, horticulture, and forestry, as well as many others types of chemicals.

What is a Class 9 trademark?

Class 9 includes scientific, nautical, surveying, photographic, cinematographic, optical, weighing, measuring, signaling, checking (supervision), life-saving and teaching apparatus and instruments; apparatus and instruments for conducting.

Who uses Nice Classification?

In addition, four regional organizations, namely the African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI), the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO), the Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP) and the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), use the Nice Classification.

What is the Nice Classification system?

International Classification of Goods and Services also known as the Nice Classification was established by the Nice Agreement (1957), is a system of classifying goods and services for the purpose of registering trademarks.

What are the 3 types of trademarks?

Different Types of Trademarks

  • Descriptive Trademarks;
  • Merely Descriptive Trademarks;
  • Generic Trademarks;

What is Class 25 trademark?

Trademark Class 25 pertains to clothing, footwear, headgear. The following goods must NOT be classified under Class 25: Certain clothing and footwear for special use.

What are the 4 types of trademarks?

Trademarks can generally be categorized into one of four categories of distinctiveness, from most to least distinctive: coined, arbitrary, suggestive and descriptive. Words and designs that lack any distinctiveness fall into a fifth category, “generic,” and cannot function as trademarks.

What is class 25 in trademark?

What are the different trademark classes?

Trademark Classes List of Goods and Services: Class 1: is for Chemicals, Resins, and Plastics.) Class 2: is for Varnishes, Paints, and Anti-corrosion substances. Class 3: is for Cosmetics, Hair Oils and Lotions, and Cleaning Preparations. Class 4: is for Greases, Lubricants, and Fuels.

What is Class 45 Trademark?

What Is a Class 45 Trademark? Class 45 includes personal, social, and security services. Essentially, any business that protects, or supervises, property or individuals goes into this class. This definition is intentionally broad, as Class 45 covers a wide range of services from firefighting to pet sitting and legal services. Legal Services

What is trademark and types of trademarks?

A trademark offers legal protection for a word, symbol, phrase, logo, design, or combination of those that represents a source of goods or services. Types of trademarks for products include five main categories: generic mark, descriptive mark, suggestive mark, fanciful, and arbitrary mark.

What is class-99 trademark?

Class 99 under trademark is a reference for the multi-class trademark application. Section 18 of Trademark Act, 1999 entails provision regarding registration of the mark in multiple-class.