What does the lock symbol mean in GroupMe?
When there is a lock icon next to one of your contact’s name it means that they have chosen to not share their presence state with other users. Navigate to Settings (gear icon in the upper left) > Share availability information with and then choose Everyone. Note: This is the default setting.
What does hiding a message in GroupMe do?
Hiding messages will remove chats from view but won’t delete them. This is fairly useful for housekeeping purposes as it can clear the app and make room for other chats.
What does it mean to disable group sharing on GroupMe?
When creating a group, you have the option of making a group open or closed. Closed Group: Only the group creator can add or remove people, change the group name, avatar, and topic. Non-owners will not have the membership and group settings options available to them on the group member page.
What does SMS mean in GroupMe?
Group SMS on GroupMe. (U.S. Only) You can create and manage groups simply by sending text messages—no app or smartphone needed.
How do I know if I’m blocked on GroupMe?
GroupMe doesn’t seem to have any way to tell if someone has blocked you or not. The blocked person is not notified and there is no obvious change in how the app behaves if you do block someone. If the blocked person DMs you, they don’t get an undeliverable message, the DM just disappears.
Does GroupMe kick people out?
GroupMe members can occasionally encounter issues with other contacts. If so, they might choose to block them or remove them from the group altogether. In both cases, the person in question won’t get a notification.
Are GroupMe messages private?
Sending a Direct Message (DM) allows you to send a private message to another GroupMe user. Note: SMS users are not able to participate in Direct Messages.
Can GroupMe messages be deleted?
You can delete or hide a message or image you’ve sent in a GroupMe chat. Find the message you want to delete, then tap and hold on the message or click the three dots next to the message. Select Delete, then select Delete again.
Does GroupMe tell you when you’re removed from a group?
We’ve confirmed that GroupMe doesn’t inform its users when they’ve been removed from the group.
Can you leave a GroupMe without anyone knowing?
As of today, you can’t leave a GroupMe group without notifying the other members. When you leave a group, a message will show up in the chatbox, informing the users about your departure.
Does GroupMe use text messages?
GroupMe is a free service provided by Mindless Dribble Inc., but any text messages sent/received are subject to standard text messaging rates determined by your mobile phone carrier. Text messaging rates can normally be found by asking your provider. Please also note that GroupMe currently uses US-based numbers.
How does GroupMe SMS work?
Send free text messages to your friends and family Keeping you in touch is what GroupMe is all about. You can create groups from the contacts already in your phone and send a text to them all at once. When one of them responds, everyone gets the message. It’s like a free private chat room that works on every phone.