Categories :

What is the Asia test?

What is the Asia test?

An American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) exam is a standard physical to help: Determine which parts of the body are working normally and which parts are affected by the spinal cord injury. Classify the level of your spinal cord injury. Predict your recovery from the injury.

What does Asia B mean?

B = Incomplete: Sensory, but not motor, function is preserved below the neurologic level and extends through sacral segments S4-S5. C = Incomplete: Motor function is preserved below the neurologic level, and most key muscles below the neurologic level have a muscle grade of less than 3.

WHAT IS ASIA Impairment Scale?

The American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) impairment scale or AIS describes a person’s functional impairment as a result of a SCI. This scale indicates how much sensation a person feels after light touch and a pin prick at multiple points on the body and tests key motions on both sides of the body.

How is motor level calculated in Asia?

2. Determine motor levels for right and left sides. Defined by the lowest key muscle function that has a grade of at least 3 (on supine testing), providing the key muscle functions represented by segments above that level are judged to be intact (graded as a 5).

What does Asia C mean?

ASIA C: Incomplete, motor function is preserved below the neurological level of injury, but more than half of the key muscles below the level have a muscle grade less than 3 (i.e. unable to move against gravity)

What is C4 spinal injury?

A C4 spinal cord injury occurs when damage is dealt about mid-way down the cervical spinal cord — the topmost portion of the spinal cord that is located in the neck and upper shoulders.

How do you read ASIA scores?


  1. Grade A: The impairment is complete. There is no motor or sensory function left below the level of injury.
  2. Grade B: The impairment is incomplete.
  3. Grade C: The impairment is incomplete.
  4. Grade D: The impairment is incomplete.
  5. Grade E: The patient’s functions are normal.

What does Asia D mean?

ASIA D: Incomplete, motor function is preserved below the neurological level of injury, and at least half the key muscles below the injury level have a muscle grade of 3 or more (i.e. joints can be moved against gravity. ASIA E: Normal, motor and sensory functions are normal. ASIA Impairment Scale.

What is C4 responsible for?

C4 helps control upward shoulder movements. 1. C4 (along with C3 and C5) also helps power the diaphragm—the sheet of muscle that stretches to the bottom of the rib cage for breathing. 1. The C4 dermatome covers parts of the neck, shoulders, and upper part of arms.

Can you recover from a C4 spinal injury?

Much of the success of a patient’s C4 spinal cord injury recovery is dependent on the level of medical care they receive immediately following the incident. The neck and spinal cord must be stabilized as much as possible, and medications or surgery may be necessary to help reduce swelling and inflammation.

What happens when you break C4?

After a C4 spinal cord injury, individuals may lose sensation and control over the bowel and bladder muscles. Because the bowel and bladder muscles are innervated by some of the bottommost segments of the spinal cord, bladder and bowel dysfunction is extremely common amongst SCI patients.

What nerves do C4 affect?

Cervical spinal nerve 4, also called C4, is a spinal nerve of the cervical segment. It originates from the spinal cord above the 4th cervical vertebra (C4). It contributes nerve fibers to the phrenic nerve, the motor nerve to the thoracoabdominal diaphragm….Cervical spinal nerve 4.

Cervical spinal nerve
FMA 6445
Anatomical terminology